This is coffee cake at its best.  I didn't know what a "buckle" was in relation to baking until I found this recipe...and it's basically a coffee cake with fruit and a crumb topping.  Even though it's not blueberry season yet, you can still buy average store-brand blueberries and this still tastes great.  I'm posting this recipe because I'm more than ready for warm weather and fresh summer berries!  I found this one on allrecipes.com and it was a hit with my family.  When I make this, I replace the shortening with butter, use EggBeaters and SplendaBlend to lighten it up and I sometimes add some oatmeal to the topping.  You could easily substitute raspberries here too, but I think the blueberries are hard to beat!

Blueberry Buckle
(serves 10)

3/4 cup white sugar
1/4 cup shortening (I use butter instead)
1 egg
1/2 cup milk
2 cups all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 cups fresh blueberries
1/2 cup white sugar
1/3 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/4 cup butter, softened

Preheat oven to 375 degrees F (190 degrees C). Grease one 8x8 inch pan.

Cream together 3/4 cup sugar, shortening, and egg.

In a separate bowl mix together 2 cups flour, baking powder, and salt. Stir into sugar mixture, alternating with milk. Stir in blueberries. Pour into greased 8x8 inch pan.

To make topping: Combine 1/2 cup sugar, 1/3 cup flour, cinnamon, and butter. Sprinkle over cake batter.

Bake at 375 degree F (190 degrees C) for 25-30 minutes.





Leave a Reply.